Expectant Parents

I was told this week the news that one of my best friends will be becoming a father next year. We celebrated the news with a few jars and I must say that I am so pleased for them, they will undoubtedly make excellent parents.

Christmas is just around the corner and so I loaded up the internet to search for the best presents to buy for expectant parents. I thought that this year, it might be a good idea to get the something practical, or something sweet that will allow them to continue to get more and more excited about the new arrival.

So I type “best presents for expectant parents” into Google. The search results were nothing like I expected. Now, I don’t have children myself, so granted I don’t spend much time searching for stuff like this, but it immediately struck me that a gift for an expectant parent, in most cases, isn’t for the parent at all. The search is full of gifts for the child. I wanted to get something to give to my friends that they could use, for themselves, as a present for them in the position they are in. If I wanted to get a gift for the child, I would have typed into Google “best gifts for children”.

What are you actually meant to buy for expectant parents? I don’t want to take it upon myself to buy things like bottles etc, those sort of things are a very personal choice. I wanted something that says “Merry Christmas guys, I know you’re expecting so here’s a little something that acknowledges that this is going to be a massive change”.

About rajaragainstthemachine

About me? I'm unreliable. I will blog once in a while. I won't regularly update. I can only write about things when things happen, and for things to happen, I have to go outside and talk to people.
This entry was posted in Friends, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

